The Dublin Hospitals Cup


The Dublin Hospitals Cup

Hos cup

Since 1948, association football teams from the Dublin Hospitals have been competing annually for the Independent Trophy. The old trophy has a long and interesting history detailed on the pages of this section. Around the time of World War I, the Independent Trophy was the prize for an annual challenge match between the British Army and the top Irish players of the day. After Ireland’s War of Independence, it was the first trophy competed for by the forerunner of the Republic of Ireland international team-the ‘Free State XI’.

We welcome enquiries about participation from any Hospital in Ireland, or indeed anywhere. However, the rules of the competition must be adhered to. Also the trophy will not be held by the winning team but will remain, after the final, in Dublin in the possession of the Hospitals Cup committee.



 The Friends of the Independent Trophy

We are asking people who have played in the competition over the years to make a contribution (€20 per year) to keeping the tournament going. If you are interested in joining the ‘Friends of the Independent Trophy’ please contact us. All contributors will be recorded in the table below along with their affiliated Hospital unless they wish to remain anonymous. Our accounts will be published on this page each year after the tournament is completed. The money will go towards hiring pitches, referees fees and some ‘refreshments’ for the students. If we run a surplus, we have identified two football-related charities to which we will donate.

Year Name Hospital
2015 Dr Colm McCarthy St Vincent’s University Hospital
2015 Professor Peter O’Gorman Mater Misericordiae Hospital
2015 Dr John Seery St Vincent’s University Hospital
2015 Dr Andrew Delany St Vincent’s University Hospital